Close Menu X
Navigate

Community Groups

Community Groups

One vital way we pursue God's plan & design for His people and our church’s mission is through community groups. Each week, small groups gather for conversation, prayer, study, and outreach. Our groups are centered around our four Core Values from Acts 2.42-47.
core-values-updated-2-1

CORE VALUES OF COMMUNITY GROUPS

LogosLOGOS (SCRIPTURE) 

In the Greek, the word logos refers to Scripture and involves clarifying the person and work of Jesus, His Kingdom and our response to the call of the gospel. In our community groups, we are committed to submitting to the authority of God as we remain rooted in the Scriptures.

 EthosETHOS (COMMUNITY) 

In the Greek, the word ethos means “character,” or the guiding beliefs of a person, group, or institution. We aim to have community groups that are defined by a culture of hospitality, friendship, and caring for one another. We call this “Rocking Philippians 2” (see Philippians 2.1-11). 

 PathosPATHOS (EXPERIENCE) 

In the Greek, the word pathos has overtones of experience, emotion and suffering. We believe God is both transcendent AND immanent and ministers to us through His Holy Spirit.  We want our community groups to be places where people experience this ministry of the Holy Spirit through prayer, through worship, and through the body of Christ as we exercise the gifts of the Holy Spirit and build one another up.

 ApostolosAPOSTOLOS (MISSION)

In the Greek, the word apostolos means “sent one.” We see community groups as equipping/sending/refueling stations in the work of disciple-making as defined by Jesus in Matthew 28:16-20. 

This includes:
> Evangelism
> Gospel-centered discipleship rooted in community
> Mercy and justice initiatives
> Church planting & foreign missions
> Community engagement

We’d love to partner with you in growing as a disciple of Jesus. You can e-mail info@aletheiachurch.com for more information or explore our Frequently Asked Questions.

Listed below are the dates, times, and contact information for each of our community groups.

**Some adjustments in group operations due to Covid-19 have been made. Please reach out to the group leaders to find out the specific plans and structure for that group!


Community Groups - Fall Semester 2022

 

Sundays

5 p.m. in Penn Laird--childcare provided

Raymond & Sarah Brown: brown2ra15@gmail.com, sdbauserman@gmail.com
Dereck & Caitlyn Criner: dereckcriner@gmail.com, caitlyncriner@gmail.com

5:30 in Bridgewater

Austin & Callie White: whiteat7692@marybaldwin.edu, calkcol@gmail.com
Benny & Rachel Bennison:rbenniso@bridgewater.edu, rachel_bennison@yahoo.com

Mondays

6 pm in Linville--childcare provided 

Ethan & Melissa Zook: edzook@gmail.commfzook@gmail.com 
Justin & Becky Knighten: justinknighten@hotmail.com, becky.knighten@gmail.com

6 pm on 33 West--men only; no childcare

DJ Stewart: djstewart80@gmail.com, 540.578.0665

Tuesdays 

6:00 pm in Harrisonburg--childcare TBD

Stephen & Kristin LaPorta: laportsp@jmu.edu, kmlauni@gmail.com
John & Crystal Jackson: john.jackson1775@gmail.com, jejcdj1@comcast.net

6:30 pm in Staunton

David & Anna Kirkpatrick:drdkirkpatrick@gmail.com,annaelisekirkpatrick@gmail.com

Wednesdays

6 pm in Dayton--childcare provided 

Chiedo and Kelsey John: chiedo@johncommunity.comkelseyjohn@robohn.com
Becca Sopher: rebecca.sopher@gmail.com 
Andrew Kilcup:andrewkilcup@aletheiachurch.com

6 pm in Harrisonburg--West side; childcare provided

Mark & Abby Huffman: thickhuffman@gmail.comabbyhuffman@gmail.com
Joey & Caitlin Testa: Youwerelikewa@hotmail.com, caitlinxle@gmail.com
Cori & Rebecca Pflugradt:ctpflugradt@gmail.com, rebecca.pflugradt@gmail.com

6:30 pm in Bridgewater--childcare provided

Aaron & April Cosner: aaroncosner@gmail.com, aprilcosner@aletheiachurch.com
AJ & Pearl Hurst: hurstandrewj@gmail.com, pearlhurst@gmail.com

6:30 pm in Harrisonburg--women and men, meeting separately for discussion; no childcare

Jenny Carrier and Alana Dean: jennycarrier@aletheiachurch.comalanatdean@gmail.com;
Thomas Carrier and Josh Dean: thomascarrier@aletheiachurch.com, joshua.dean1@gmail.com

6:30 pm in Harrisonburg--no childcare

Dan Castle: dan.castle@cru.org
Andy Grabau: grabau.andrew@gmail.com
Daniil & Laura Pogoretskiy: dpogoretskiy@gmail.com, lauretskiy@gmail.com

Thursdays 

5:30-7:30 p.m. in Harrisonburg-- North Harrisonburg; childcare provided

Brian & Caitlin Parrish: bkp2009@gmail.com, caitlinparrish@aletheiachurch.com
Jason & Nattida Young: jasonalenyoung@gmail.com, nattida@gmail.com